At least she’ll be prepared!

9 06 2009

A little bit ago, Eliana came and asked me where her suitcase was at. I was really confused, until I realized she meant her rolling backpack suitcase that her great-grandma gave her. She thanked me and then said she had to go pack. Here was the rest of our conversation…

Me – “Oh! So where are you going?”

Eliana – “Africa.”

Me – “Oh really? Wow! What are you going to do there?”

E – “I want to buy a giraffe for me and a elphant for David.”

Me – “Fun! So… what are you going to use for money? You don’t get an allowance yet.”

E – “Oh, it’s ok. David got your wallet from the diaper bag.”

Me – (laughing) “Uh, I don’t think I have enough money for you to buy a giraffe and an elephant.”

E – “Oh, he didn’t take the paper money. You can have that. He took the card. Since Daddy works, I knew that he could work and make more money and it’ll be ok.”

Me – “Uhhhh… Trust me. Daddy doesn’t make enough to buy a giraffe or elephant. But you can try. So how long does it take you to get to Africa? Are you going to fly? Ride a boat? Walk and then swim across the ocean?”

E – “I can’t swim yet and David’s too little to walk that far. We’re going to take his Toemater truck and then get on a plane when we get to the airport.”

Me – “That sounds like a good plan! So when will you be back?”

E – “Ummm…. I don’t know. It’ll take awhile. I better pack some candy for us to eat. And I’ll bring an apple for David. And I’ll bring him a diaper and I want to bring my princess panties and my veggies tales toothbrush.”

Me – “That’s some smart thinking! So where are the giraffe and elephant going to live once yoiu bring them back home? And what will you feed them?”

E – “The giraffe will live in my room and I’ll give him the green candy and he can eat the grass in the backyard. The elphant can sleep in your closet and they like peanuts, so I’ll give him the peanuts in the kitchen and make him a peanut butter sammich. And you can put water in the tub so they can drink water. I don’t want them to drink water out of the toilet like Grammy’s dogs, because that’s beesgusting!”

Me – (laughing some more) “Well, I think you’ve got a good plan! Have fun packing! Come and give me a kiss before you leave!”

E – “Ok! Thanks mommy! I wuv you!”

She went into her room and stuffed the suitcase full of clothes and diapers and then came and asked for candy to pack. I humored her and let her pick out a piece for her. I helped her put it on her back and now she’s been pushing David up and down our halls for the past 15 minutes. The two of them are screeching and laughing and having a blast! I’ll have to grab my camera and take some pictures!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

