So Thankful

27 11 2008

Happy Thanksgiving Day!

There are so many things that I’m thankful for!

Here are two of my favorite!

david-in-his-longies1

eliana-in-her-purple-dress-11-12-08

And I’m feeling stuffed and full after eating a delicious meal!  I hosted Thanksgiving for the first time.  It is such a blessing to have a big enough place to have the leaf in the table and not feel squished in a small dining area!  Lisa and Kyle were here, and my parents are staying the night.

I was productive with my time this week, and made as much as I could ahead of time.  Monday we pulled the turkey out of the freezer and put it in the fridge so that it would thaw in time and I began researching recipes.  Tuesday, I made Triple Cranberry sauce (yum!) and Hello Dolly cookies (double yum!)  Yesterday, I made the stuffing, applesauce with spices, rinsed the turkey, dashed to Bed Bath & Beyond and bought a nice and big roasting pan with rack and lid for $20 (score!), pulled out the table cloth and placemats, mopped the kitchen floor, straightened up the kids room and craft room, and pulled out the wine and sparkling cider,  Phew!

I went to sleep at 1:45am and woke up at 5am to put the stuffing in the turkey and put it in the oven.  I’m proud to say that it turned out moist and delicious!  Lisa brought yummy mashed potatoes, and my mom made coffee that my dad brought back from Nepal, we roasted rolls, my dad made gravy, and we all stuffed ourselves to the gills!

It was such a nice Thanksgiving, and I’m reminded that God has richly blessed me with a wonderful family!

I hope your Thanksgiving was just as full of love, peace and great conversation!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

