It’s so much fun to learn new techniques!

20 10 2008

Today, I saw on a forum that someone posted a photoshop elements question.  That picked my curiosity, as I have photoshop elements.  I saw the question was about how to make a photo black and white, and then keep just a pop of color, like the eyes.

One person replied with a link to a tutorial, so I decided to try it out.  There was a photo I took of Jake and David, and was wanting to do something like this for last week’s photo challenge theme, which was “Eyes”.  I didn’t have time to try it yesterday, since it was our anniversary, so I thought I’d still go ahead and try it out today.

Here is what I came up with.

Original:

After:

It was much easier to do than I thought.  I’m still going to fiddle with the photo a little and see if I can make it less bright on David’s face.  I’m pretty pleased with my first attempt!

I decided to try it again with a different photo to see if I could make a more dramatic pop of color.  This is a photo I posted earlier, of Eliana hugging the pumpkin she picked out at the grocery store.

And here is the black/white color pop version:

I had a hard time doing her hair, so I didn’t do all the strands, as they were coming out orange because of the pumpkins behind her.  There are a few spots to touch up, but overall I really like it!

This is addicting and I caught myself looking through my photos to see what else I could try.  I’m really looking forward to using this technique with Christmas photos!

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 10 2008
kariberi

I have elements too and I have been trying to figure this out for months! Could you send me the link on how to do this? Thanks!

Kari

20 10 2008
scrapsoflove

No Problem! I followed the directions on this tutorial:

http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/pselements/ss/partialcolor.htm

You click on the Layers button on the upper right, and then click the icon on the lower right of that box to add a new layer. Then you click on the layer, and then you click on the icon on the bottom left to either change the Hue/Saturation or the Gradiant. I didn’t see a huge difference between the two, but I went ahead and followed the directions for Gradiant.

I hope that helps! Feel free to contact me if you have more questions!

21 10 2008
kariberi

your awesome! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

