Finding the flower love

6 01 2008

I’ve been meaning to post photos of this bag for awhile.  In November, I joined a carrier bag fairy group.  We were a group of moms from thebabywearer.com website, and we formed a yahoo group so we could exchange information about our favorite fabrics and styles.  Then we were assigned a mom who had similiar fabric tastes, and we would make a bag of our choice for them.  We had to use at least one or two fabrics from our stash.  It was so much fun to see all the different bags that were made.  I received mine right after Thanksgiving and I LOVE it!  The mama saw that I like Asian prints and made a bag around that idea.  Eliana has claimed the bag as hers and loves using it to carry toys.

I was assigned a mama who makes really cute corduroy backpacks and mama bags, so I knew I could have a lot of fun with it.  It was my first time ever making a bag, and I kept changing my pattern and designed as I came across lots of different ideas.  I bought a book called Portraits from Nature: 35 Studies for Dimensional Quilts and I thought it would be fun to make two flower blocks and sew them onto the side of a bag.  And then I came across some suede cloth in my stash, and decided to cut them into squares to make a patchwork.  I also used several great tutorials online that helped me make the zipper pocket and the magnetic clasp, which turned out to be much easier than I expected.  All in all, I am very pleased with how it turned out!

Here are some photos of the bag I made for her, and also the bag that was made for me.

First side of the suece patchwork appliqued bag

First side of the suede patchwork bag with appliquéd and quilted flower

second side of the suede patchwork bag with appliqued and quilted flower

Second side of the suede patchwork bag with appliquéd and quilted flower

close up of the first appliqued and quilted flower

Close up of the first appliquéd and quilted flower

close up of the appliqued and quilted flower

Close up of the second appliquéd and quilted flower

inside of the suede patchwork bag

Inside of the suede patchwork bag, showing the batik fabric lining and zippered pocket

inside of the suede patchwork bag, showing zippered pocket and magnetic clasp

Inside of the suede patchwork bag, showing the batik fabric lining, the zipper pocket and magnetic clasp

The mama who received the bag was absolutely thrilled with it!!  I’m so glad she liked it!  I want to finish up a few other projects first, and then I plan to make one for myself!!

Here is the bag that was made for me.

Smiling Eliana with the bag fairy bag

Smiling Eliana with the bag fairy bag

Eliana with the bag fairy bag… “No Mama!  My Bag!”

Eliana told me, “No Mama!  MY Bag!”

Jen and Eliana with the new bag from the bag fairy

Jen and Eliana with the new bag from the bag fairy.  Eliana was telling me it had a “pockie!”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

